1st London Political Finance (POLFIN) Workshop - POSTPONED


June 25th 2020

Time: TBC   Venue: TBC
Organisers: Thorsten Beck (Cass Business School, CEPR & CESifo), Orkun Saka (University of Sussex, LSE & SRC) and Paolo Volpin (Cass Business School, CEPR & ECGI)

This event has been postponed due to the coronavirus crisis. The new date and venue will be confirmed at a later date.

Cass Business School and the Systemic Risk Centre at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) will jointly organize a workshop on the theme of political finance. The workshop will provide a platform for researchers and policymakers to discuss new research and to identify areas where further academic and policy-oriented work is needed. Both theoretical and empirical contributions are welcome. 

There will be a dedicated discussant for each paper, as well as open floor discussion. Papers are invited on the following (non-exhaustive) list of topics:

• Financial crises, political institutions and populism
• Interaction of financial cycles with politics
• Revolving doors between financial institutions and government
• Corruption and lobbying in finance
• Political/policy uncertainty and corporate risk-taking
• Gender/race issues in finance
• Media and finance

The workshop features a keynote speech by Professor Sir Timothy Besley (LSE).

Registration: There is no registration fee. An invitation-only conference dinner will be hosted, date TBC.
Expenses: Accommodation costs for the presenters will be covered by the workshop organisers. 
Deadline and resultsThe deadline for the submission of papers was 1st March 2020. The authors will be notified about the acceptance of papers by 1st April 2020.

Scientific Committee:
Anat Admati (Stanford University)
Thorsten Beck (Cass Business School, CEPR & CESifo)
Jeffrey Chwieroth (LSE & SRC)
Shawn Cole (Harvard University & NBER)
Jon Danielsson (LSE & SRC)
Ralph De Haas (EBRD, CEPR & Tilburg University)
Barry Eichengreen (UC Berkeley, CEPR & NBER)
Paola Giuliano (UCLA, CEPR, IZA & NBER)
Sergei Guriev (Sciences Po & CEPR)
Orkun Saka (University of Sussex, LSE & SRC)
Vikrant Vig (London Business School)
Paolo Volpin (Cass Business School, CEPR & ECGI)
Luigi Zingales (University of Chicago, CEPR, ECGI & NBER)